My Favorite Lesson

Up until this point, I have only taught a year and a half and in that time, most of my jobs required strict book work or the lessons already prepared for me. However, in my last job I resolved to try to make supplemental material for the book so the kids could really use their English and have a bit of fun.

The lesson I really enjoyed was a basic lesson on greetings. The lesson was very simple, we used the book to learn the expressions “Hi, how are you?” “Hello, I am ____.” “Good bye, ______.” “Bye-bye.” I liked this lesson most because it was simple for the kids and they were confident in what they knew. It is important for students to have confidence in their language skills. It’s a thin line we EFL teachers dance on between challenging them and maintaining their confidence. I taught elementary from phonics to advance levels; this was a lesson for my low-beginner class. I notice my Korean boy students love reading Korean comic books (man-hwa) and the girls love to draw, so I asked the kids to use the target language and make a simple man-hwa. Here is the example that I created for them as reference:

Greetings Unit: Comic Strip
Greetings Unit: Comic Strip

 

The kids had so much fun making up interesting stories with characters of their own creation or based on their friends. I was extremely surprised that no student copied my example and really made the assignment their own! Having kids running up to show me their stories and asking them to read it for me was equally as fun for me as it was for them. They had something to take away from the lesson and I knew that everyone understood the material.

3 thoughts on “My Favorite Lesson

  1. Hi, Erika. I also do this comic strip activity. I think that it is very useful because, as you said, most Korean textbooks and classes do not focus on activities to practice what is taught. As a result, students learn many kinds of grammar, but they can’t use it because they never adequately practiced that grammar. It’s the worst of both worlds: a lot of studying and very little comprehension. So, yes, I think that using comic strips are a great way for students to start implementing the grammar that they do know superficially in a manner which challenges them. By the way, I use this with university students — they also get a kick out of this, so I think that although it seems a little childish, this lesson can be adapted for all ages.

  2. Hi Erika!^^ I’ve never done a comic strip activity before in my kindergarten or elementary classes, but that is such a wonderful idea! That is surprising that none of them copied you. In my experience, usually at least one student copied the example I would draw for them during an art activity.

    It’s such a great feeling when you find a lesson like that where the students are enjoying learning, especially so much so that they do not even realize they are learning. More education should be this way–interactive and relative to the students interests.^^

  3. Dani

    This is so cute! I’ve used the Dinosaur Comics template for a lesson before, and that was a huge hit. Kids of all ages love comics! Beware though, older kids love to use new language… like swear words!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

