My Online Reputation and Digital Footprint…

…of lack there of.

This week it came to my attention how little of an internet sensation I am. Shocking. But, what was more confounding was what an impact this could have for a professional educator. What can I do to make myself more visible on the internet?

Build an Online Portfolio.

Your CV will only speak so much for you. So what can you do to set yourself apart from the stack of CVs on your potential boss’ desk? Build an online portfolio. Many educators have blogs and/or websites that showcase past lessons, examples of student work, or projects they have either started or have been a part of.

Make Yourself Known.

An online presence can also help you network with other professionals in your field. Join platforms like Twitter or Facebook and begin finding groups or people whose posts are relevant. Repost, retweet, or contribute your own finds. Follow people who pique your interests as they pertain to your profession. You notice when people follow you, people will begin to notice you, too.

Contribute, Contribute, Contribute.

You may not have much to say in the beginning and lurking in the shadows may be all you can do, but make an effort to post or retweet anything you find informative or interesting. Share your personal accomplishments, professional development efforts (i.e. conferences/workshops), or even post questions. If you are on Twitter, hashtag it up. Build a repertoire of pertinent hashtags and when you post, make sure to include as many as are applicable.

Be Consistent.

We’ve all jumped on the SNS bandwagon. Just as quickly as we started, we stopped. Be serious in your efforts to build your digital image. Keep posting even if it seems like no one is reading. These things take time.


 

These are just a few things that I plan to do to started building my online reputation. Do you have any other suggestions?

3 thoughts on “My Online Reputation and Digital Footprint…

  1. Wow! Great blog! I really like your last point about being consistent. It does take time for people to start noticing you, but gradually people become more and more interested in your work. I have seen this first hand with my friend’s facebook page for his restaurant. In the beginning, only a few people had liked the page or looked at posts. But after a year, hundreds of people are viewing his posts and almost 200 people have liked his page.^^

  2. Dani

    Bandwagoner here. I’m always looking for new tools and toys and venues of social media for things in and out of school. I can’t tell you how many accounts I have across the internet that haven’t been logged into for a year after not living up to expectations. Thankfully though, it has helped me become more consistent with my posts, focused in one place knowing that it can reach my intended audience.

Leave a Reply

