Korean Weather

If you talk to any Korean he or she will proudly tell you they have four seasons here in the Land of the Morning Calm. I’ve been here in my visits over the last two years during every season. They certain do have four distinct seasons.
Spring:
I have been here during the tail end of the spring season. It is gorgeous. There are many festivals that take place during March-May to celebrate the changing scenery. The most notable are the cherry blossom trees.

Summer:
Summer by far is my least favorite season in Korea. It is not only really hot but the humidity is unbearable. To make it worse, most Korean homes do not have central heating and air (which also becomes a pain during the winter). Korean apartments are built in a way that you can open windows and let air flow through to cool you down while indoors. But I wouldn’t stay inside most of my visit to Korea. 😉 Korea has beautiful beaches, plenty of places to hike or bike, and tons of shopping. During the summer and winter are special sales within the city. Don’t miss out! Oh! And the summer also brings one of my favorite Korean treats in restaurants. 팥빙수! Pat-bing-su is shaved ice with sweet red bean, condensed milk, and sometimes even ice cream among other topping. It’s definitely my favorite way to cool down!

Fall:
Just like spring, fall is special in Korea. There aren’t quite as many festivals, but there are plenty of events around Seoul like the Seoul Lantern Festival. (Hopefully I will have more pictures when I go this Friday). Koreans love to go out into nature to see 단풍, or the changing leaves. Where I come from, you can see some trees becoming beautiful oranges and yellows, but the colors here in Korea, are breath taking. I would recommend what my husband and I did and go for a hike around the MANY mountains Korea possesses (even around Seoul).

Winter:
Winter is NO JOKE in Korea is super cold. But for me, I haven’t seen much school in Georgia growing up. The best we get is ice and people freak out at the smallest snow flurry (no joke, Georgians can’t handle it). The temperature goes well below 0 degrees Fahrenheit. To add to the cold, the air is extremely dry. So if you are going to live here, I would suggest a humidifier, a handkerchief, and a really thick jacket with warm shoes.  Another thing that foreigners visiting Korea should know. I mentioned earlier central heating and air in homes isn’t common? Back in old Korea, houses were heated from sort of ovens under the floor called 온돌. This way of heating the house is kept with heated floors.

Leave a Reply

