Recipe: Spicy Chicken Stew (닭도리탕)

So… I’m moving to Korea in 8 days! It’s finally happening, but I also need to get things in order before I leave, like my apartment. So I was looking at my fridge and since I cook all my own food, my fridge isn’t looking as scant as it should. I had a whole pack of chicken and a hankering for spicy food (which isn’t new). What could I make…? Dak-do-ri-tang (닭도리탕)! Since I have been trying to develop my own recipes and I refuse to use premade sauces, the following recipe is all mine. It is extremely spicy just like I like it. I would suggest people who are weaker to spices to cut the amount of pepper paste and flakes in half.

Ingredients:
앙념 (Sauce):

  • 2 tbsps 고추장 (Korean red pepper paste)
  • 4 tbsp 고추가루 Korean red pepper flakes)
  • 2 tbsps soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tbsp. minced garlic

Stew:

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1 green onion
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 carrot
  • 3 small potatoes or one big potato

Directions:

  1. Mix all the ingredients for the sauce and set aside.
  2. Cut the chicken into 1-inch chucks and boil in water to remove impurities in the meat while you prepare the vegetables.
  3. Peel and cut the carrots and potatoes. You want nice, stew-like chunks (but not too big, you want them to cook down in a somewhat short amount of time).
  4. Cut the green onion into 1-inch strips. Cut onion into chunks as well.
  5. Add the carrots and potatoes to a saute pan and put about 3/4 c. of water. Heat to medium heat. Once the water starts to boil, add the chicken and rest of the vegetables to the pot (except the green onions).
  6. Mix in 2/3 of the sauce and once the water starts to boil, lower the heat to low and cover.
  7. Cook for 10 minutes. Add the rest of the sauce.
  8. Cook for 5 minutes more. Add the green onions.
  9. The stew is done when the potatoes are soft.
  10. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

